Doctoral Consortium

The first edition of the Doctoral Consortium at Mindtrek Academic Conference invites proposals from doctoral students. The Doctoral Consortium is a platform for early-stage doctoral students to present, develop and share ideas. In the consortium the researchers will be articulating and discussing their problem statements, methodologies applied, overall goals and presentation of results. The participants will gain insights from highly acclaimed HCI researchers and feedback on their research work. This forum will also provide visibility and a networking platform with fellow researchers.

The Doctoral Consortium will be held on June 1 st , 2021, a day before the Academic Mindtrek Conference.

The broad frame of topics for the Doctoral Consortium will closely follow the tracks of the Academic Mindtrek Conference and should be focused on Human-Computer Interaction and related research.

Submission Guidelines

The proposal submitted for Doctoral Consortium should be in English. Along with the doctoral researcher, the name of the supervisor should be included in the proposal. The proposal should be 2-4 pages (including references) stating the status of research, theoretical framework, and results to date. Also, submit a motivation letter and a CV along with the proposal. Accepted proposals will be presented as posters during the conference.

Please use the templates provided on the style guidelines site. A template for Word documents and LaTeX guidelines can be found on
Please submit your proposal in PDF format.

The proposals along with CV and motivation letter should be submitted via Easy Chair. More information can be found on “Submission Guidelines.”

Deadline for submitting proposals for Doctoral Consortium (11:59 pm EET):
April 10th, 2021.

Notification of acceptance:
April 25th, 2021.

Camera-ready submission and Registrations:
May 1st, 2021.

Doctoral Consortium:
June 1st, 2021.

If you have any further query,
please contact the Doctoral Consortium Chairs:

Tero Avellan,
Tampere University, Tero.Avellan[AT]

Rucha Tulaskar,
Tampere University, Rucha.Tulaskar[AT]

Biju Thankachan,
Tampere University, Biju.Thankachan[AT]